Blizniak Lignum Vitae bokken- Iwama style

Smooth, no polish finish

No tsuba cut

40.5″ length

Tsuka 12″ length, 4.5″ circumference

962 grams

Well, here it is… the one you have all been waiting for.  The Lignum Vitae bokken.  I have to be honest and say that I was just as eager to get to this one as you all have been, but that presents a problem for me.  I don’t want to break it!  But part of the reason I have been doing all of this is to “kill the Buddha”… kill the ego and attachment and just break these bokken (well, try anyway).  So I press on.

This bokken is nothing if not substantial.  The largest bokken I have used so far was the 45.5″ laminated o-katana bokken that weighed 810 grams.  The LV bokken, at a regular 40″ in length, weighs in at 962 grams, or 2.12 lbs.!!!!

The LV wood has a really strong smell to it, like it has been sitting in the woodshop a long time, yet I think it’s the wood itself… much stronger than any other wood I have tested.  Some may not like it, but I do!

The last two pics show the result after the hard impact.  Notice the alternating grain pattern in the wood.  I have to say that I was very disappointed in the result, though not surprised given LV’s weight and density.

