My first posts on lignum vitae were about the Blizniak Lignum Vitae bokken.  This lignum is from Argentina (among other S. American countries).  This wood is also called vera wood, and I am having another maker make me one with a different style (more on that to come).

The problem I am having is that everyone seems to agree on how to say “lignum”- it sounds like it is spelled.  But no one agrees on how to say “vitae”.  So I did some digging, and here is what I came up with:

Classical Latin: weet-eye

British/southern S. America: vee-ty

northern S. American: vih-ty

French/Italian: vee-tay

Romanian: vee-tuh

So, as you can see, there are several ways to pronounce it without being incorrect.  Though, I would tend to lean towards either Latin (due to the way plants are named) or either of the ways for S. America, as that is where vera wood is from.

